‘Afro- and Brazilian jazz meet dub, free improv and spiritual jazz-rock in a sonorous clash of universal sound’.

‘Rapid-fire guitar work with variety and energy’ – The Guardian

‘Phil Dawson and his quartet are really smoking at the mo. No wonder the London jazz young guns are ripping it up with bands like this leading the way. Miss them at your peril’ – Russ Jones (Future World Funk)

‘A great guitarist’ – Tony Allen

A new project from the sometime guitarist with bands such as Dele Sosimi Afrobeat Orchestra, Lokkhi Terra, Cubafrobeat and Soothsayers, who is also known for work with iconic artists like Hugh Masekela, Tony Allen, Mulatu Astatke, Khaled and Osibisa.

The band features Matheus Nova (bass), well known for his collaborations and contributions to projects with Antonio Forcione, Ed Motta, Saravah Soul and Jazzinho; Marius Rodrigues (drums) deep knowledge of grooves from all over the planet has helped him contribute to a large catalogue of folk, fusion, pop, jazz as well as Brazilian recording projects.

There are trio, quartet or quintet versions of this project. The guitar, bass and drums combination puts a variety of groove sources through the blender: from David Bowie tunes to Marcos Valle and Joao Donato; original tunes have been forged from flavours of Ghanaian hilife, Brazilian baiao and desert blues from Mali as well as jazz references from Jim Hall to Tony Williams to Sonny Sharrock and Pharaoh Sanders.

The band often features the amazing Maurizio Ravalico (percussion) and Rowland Sutherland (flutes) both of whom have amazing musical pedigrees. Rowland’s flute textures and lines together with Maurizio’s self-designed sonic universe and openness to free exploration push the quintet to more spontaneous musical territory peppered with true roots grooves – ‘Agharta’ meets Ebo Taylor. The quartet (Dawson, Nova, Rodrigues, Ravalico) follows a similar road to spontaneity with a slightly rockier edge.

Phil Dawson – guitars
Matheus Nova – bass
Marius Rodrigues – drums
Rowland Sutherland (flutes)
Maurizio Ravalico (percussion)



+44 7809 882153

Follow Us


Phil Dawson Special Quintet feat Afla Sackey, w/Tom Allan, Marius Rodrigues, Matheus Nova, Mondomix IOW, 8th June

Phil Dawson Quartet w/Billy Weir, Chris Jones, Tom Allan, Cheltenham, 9th June

w/ Cubafrobeat, Jazz Cafe, London NW1, 23rd June

w/Nina Miranda, Domenico Lancelotti, Bem Gil etc – Tropicalia Supergrupo, Giant Steps, London E3, 24th June

w/ Freedom Sounds: The Story of Studio One, Jazz Cafe, London NW1, 21st July

w/ Namvula, Manchester Jazz Festival, 28th July

w/Hilife Allstars trio, Zedel London W1, 8th September

w/ Namvula, Derby Jazz, 14th September

w/ Dele Sosimi, Sheffield, 29th September

w/ Adma Newport, Jansen Santana, Matheus Nova – Beiju Quartet, UK Brazilian Embassy, 17th October

w/ Eliel Lazo Cuban Funk Machine, tribute to Machito, Jazz Cafe, London NW1, 19th October

w/Namvula, Breis, Dele Sosimi (2 separate shows), Crucible Theatre, Sheffield, 26-27th October

w/Namvula, Afrospot Allstars (2 separate shows), Africa on the Square, London W1 27th October

Phil Dawson trio w/Guillaume Ottaviani and Jon Clark, Harry Cooks Cheltenham, 22nd November

Tribute to Hugh Masekela w/Francis Fuster, Claude Deppa, Kishon Khan etc, London SE3, 30th November

Afrobeat Vibration w/Dele Sosimi, Jazz Cafe NW1, 30th November

w/ Hilife Allstars trio feat. Kodjovi Kush, The Bell, Bath 12th December

w/ Hilife Allstars trio feat. Kodjovi Kush, Bristol 13th December

w/ Hilife Allstars trio, feat. Kodjovi Kush, Stroud 14th December

w/ Hilife Allstars trio, Zedel, London 4th January 2019

w/ Cubafrobeat, Ronnie Scott's, London 6th January